beaty-law-firm-drunk_driving_case-bail-bonds

If your loved one is trouble with DWI Charges & Arrest, it is essential to know the 1st punishment and penalties defined for DWI-DUI Code of conduct/laws in Texas. Here is a list of DWI Penalties in the given table that can be very helpful for you to understand the law in a better way:

Summary of DWI Penalties in Texas

Charge Offense Level Fine Jail Time License Suspension Annual Surcharge
DWI with child passenger – Child under 15 years of age State Jail Felony Up to $10,000 6 months to 2 years in a State Jail Facility 90 days to 2 years $2,000
for 3 years
1st DWI Class B Misdemeanor Up to $2,000 72 hours to 180 days 90 to 365 days $1,000
for 3 years
1st DWI with Open Container Enhancement Class B Misdemeanor Up to $2,000 6 to 180 days 90 to 365 days $1,000
for 3 years
1st DWI with BAC at .15 or over Class A Misdemeanor Up to $4,000 72 hours to 1 year 90 to 365 days $2,000
for 3 years
2nd DWI Class A Misdemeanor Up to $4,000 30 to 365 days 180 days to 2 years $1,500
for 3 years
3rd DWI 3rd Degree Felony Up to $10,000 2 to 10 years in TDCJ 180 days to 2 years $1,500
for 3 years
3rd or more DWI with 1 prior penitentiary trip Punished as a 2nd Degree Felony Up to $10,000 2 to 20 years in TDCJ Up to 2 years $1,500
for 3 years
3rd or more DWI with 2 prior penitentiary trips Enhanced Felony Punishment Up to $10,000 25 years to life in TDCJ Up to 2 years $1,500
for 3 years
1st BWI Class B Misdemeanor Up to $2,000 72 hours to 180 days 90 to 365 days $1,000
for 3 years
1st BWI with BAC at .15 or over Class A Misdemeanor Up to $4,000 72 hours to 1 year 90 to 365 days $2,000
for 3 years
2nd BWI Class A Misdemeanor Up to $4,000 30 to 365 days 180 days to 2 years $1,500
for 3 years
3rd BWI 3rd Degree Felony Up to $10,000 2 to 10 years in TDCJ 180 days to 2 years $1,500
for 3 years
3rd or more BWI with 1 prior penitentiary trip Punished as a 2nd Degree Felony Up to $10,000 2 to 20 years in TDCJ Up to 2 years $1,500
for 3 years
3rd or more BWI with 2 prior penitentiary trips Enhanced Felony Punishment Up to $10,000 25 years to life in TDCJ Up to 2 years $1,500
for 3 years
Intoxication Assault – DWI that Causes Serious Bodily Injury 3rd Degree Felony Up to $10,000 2 to 10 years in TDCJ 180 days to 2 years $1,000
for 3 years
Intoxication Manslaughter – DWI that Causes Death 2nd Degree Felony Up to $10,000 2 to 10 years in TDCJ 180 days to 2 years $1,000
for 3 years

To know more about DWI process and a Free Consultation with a legal advice in your case, connect with our DWI Defense Attorney: Call – +1-(972)9920234